National Strategic Board Members

The Strategic Board sets the direction for the National Police Air Service and holds the lead Local Chief Constable to account for the operational delivery of the service, on behalf of the other police bodies of England and Wales.

Here is a list of the National Strategic Board members, and the regions they represent (updated December 2021):

North East Region

Police and Crime Commissioner Jonathan Evison, Humberside
Chief Constable Jo Farrell, Durham Police

North West Region

Chief Constable Mark Roberts, Cheshire Constabulary
Police and Crime Commissioner Peter McCall, Cumbria

West Midlands Region

Chief Constable Debbie Tedds, Warwickshire Police
Police and Crime Commissioner John Campion, West Mercia

East Midlands Region

Chief Constable Rachel Swan, Derbyshire Police
Police and Crime Commissioner Rupert Matthews, Leicestershire

Eastern Region

Chief Constable Ben Julian-Harrington, Essex Police
Police and Crime Commissioner Giles Orpen-Smellie, Norfolk Constabulary

London Region

Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Laurence Taylor, Metropolitan Police Service
Head of Operational Oversight for Mayor’s Office for Policing and Crime Robin Merrett, London

South East Region

Chief Constable John Campbell, Thames Valley Police
Police and Crime Commissioner Lisa Townsend, Surrey (Chair)

South West Region

Chief Constable Shaun Sawyer, Devon and Cornwall Police
Police and Crime Commissioner Mark Shelford, Avon and Somerset


Chief Constable Pam Kelly, Gwent Police
Police and Crime Commissioner Dafydd Llywelyn, Dyfed-Powys